I’m back

I’m not sure that anyone really reads this anymore, though the wordpress dashboard stats tell me otherwise. I’ve been on hiatus for quite a while now, but I haven’t forgotten about this, my humble little platform from which to spew my wisdoms and non-wisdoms about the world. The last semester I had an unusually strenuous course load in addition to three jobs, and so I found myself with less and less free time. Luckily, I graduated Saturday! In the coming days and weeks I hope to continue to spout my opinions and thoughts for any brave enough to attempt to reason through them.
What you can expect:

* some replies to my diametrically opposed friend Derek about Enlightenment thinkers, Alasdair MacIntyre, and ethics.

* thoughts on what it would take for me re-consider faith.

* some rambling about living in an evangelical Christian community, both while I identified with them and after my rejection of faith.

* my views on a variety of political issues. The only two things I’ve ever really loved are politics and religion–I’ve commented on one thus far, I’d like to take a stab at the other.

5 Responses to “I’m back”

  1. I’ve been checking in occasionally, and am glad to see you’re back.

    I have a somewhat-related question that I think you might be able to help me with. I am currently a person of faith, I attend church regularly, even teach Sunday school (which I never imagined I would do previously). I was raised in the Episcopal (Anglican) church, left it for a long while, and now that I have children, I’m back. I consider myself a believer with a rigorous questioning streak.

    Anyway, here is my comment/question for you: I have a friend who is surrounded by much more fervent believers than me. She is in the midst of an adoption process that is quite difficult (matches not working, death of a child to be adopted, etc.). She is a self-described non-believer (though most of the people around her don’t realize this). She is struggling to get through these hardships, and wants to hang on long enough to be placed with a child. But it’s rough going. And she is surrounded by people saying things like, “When He decides it’s time, it will all work out.” Or “When God closes a door he always opens a window” or “Just keep the faith.” She realizes these people are trying to help, but what they are saying comes across like platitudes and doesn’t actually help her get through the day.

    Do you have any suggestions for her? I’ve forgotten what works in this kind of situation for an agnostic/atheist. And want to be supportive but not shove my “leave it at the cross” talk down her throat.

    Sally

  2. Congrats on your graduation!

    I still subscribe. Looking forward to reading.

  3. Kerrin, thanks! Looking forward to discussions with you. 🙂

    Sally,

    First, I would suggest that there is no magic key to the psychology of agnostics or atheists. We are all different… psychology, desires, aversions, politics, etc. There is no one way to deal with us in troubled times.

    Second, and this too might sound like a platitude, but just be there for her. I’ve never experienced this kind of hardship, but I have experienced my own times of strife. Do what you would do with anyone facing a situation like this: be there, listen to her, offer her support. One of the few things I’ve missed about my time as a Christian is the feeling of belonging, of that safety net. Assure her that there are those who care about her and who will be with her through the whole process–for an atheist that is what our lives are, an mosaic of persons interacting with one another.

    I’m not sure if that helps, but I am not trained in the arts of psychology or counseling. All I can offer is that you deal with her as you know her as a friend. Some people need to be distracted, need to laugh. Others need to talk through their problems. Some need time alone, others need to be surrounded by people. *shrug*

    I hope that provides something to help. She’ll be in my thoughts.

    CTC

  4. CTC,

    Thanks for your response. You’re right “being there for her” is probably the best way to help.

    Keep up the good work,
    Sally

  5. we are all different, but there are so much things that are common for everybody…

Leave a Reply

