CTC is back! 1.5 years of faithlessness and still going strong.

It was with much surprise that when I checked this blog for the first time in many months, I found that it still receives a lot of traffic.  Who would have guessed.  A while back I had taken a job which restricted my abilities to take part in any online communities.   Recently, I’ve decided to make a return, if for no other reason than to have a reason for the swarm of often incoherent thoughts that crowd my mind.

It’s been more than a year and a half since I made public my departure from the Christian faith.  The difference in not only my relationship to Christianity, but also my perception of Christianity, has changed so much that it is hard to describe.  The fact that I spent seven years as a Christian is almost surreal to me.  My interaction with religion is now more of a moviegoer with a passing interest than a participant with a vested interest.

Eighteen months later, I find myself perfectly content with my decision.  A far cry from the predictions of emotional doom and torment from some of my former ‘brothers’ and ‘sisters,’ the world seems to make far more sense without filtering every idea through the paradigm of evangelical Christianity.  Certainly I am not content with the state of affairs in the world, or even my own life, but I am entirely content with my ability to traverse the uncertain waters of this world without the need to turn to an invisible parent figure with all of the answers.

My atheism has matured, if you will.  I am neither fueled by animosity toward religion nor indifferent to its effects on society.  Last fall I had the opportunity to do some community work with several Christian pastors and even a seminary professor.  My interactions with them were nothing but positive.  In an environment where the topic of religion was secondary at most, they were an absolute delight to have around.  They were some of the most interesting people I worked with; certainly I believe they hold to some very wrong ideas, but who doesn’t?

On the other hand, I am convinced as ever that as time goes on, humanity’s dependence on religion dissipate.  I am also fairly convinced that while religion has a muddied mixture of positive and negative influence on the world, it will generally be better for the world to move beyond religion.

In my own life, I find that changes in my life are still rather miniscule.  I have yet to commit a murder, steal vast sums of money, or partake in animal sacrifice.  Just this morning someone labled me a “really nice guy.”  I haven’t turned to backbiting or begun to destroy friendships.  Perhaps the single largest change in lifestyle is that I consume, in moderation, alcohol *gasp* in a variety of social settings.  And yet, it hasn’t led me down a path of alcoholism and public unrulyness.  Who would have guessed?

As a Christian, I couldn’t imagine life without leaning on the person of Christ as the lens through which I viewed the world.  As a post-Christian, I couldn’t be happier to look out into a universe full of questions and mysteries, knowing that my finite mind will be able to unravel and comprehend a fraction of them, and be thoroughly convinced to stand in awe at the sheer depth of questions I will never be able to understand.

I leave you with a note from Carl Sagan, “We make our world significant by the courage of our questions and the depth of our answers.”

13 Responses to “CTC is back! 1.5 years of faithlessness and still going strong.”

  1. Chip, welcome back. I appreciate you, sir, and I miss you, friend.

  2. Ditto Jason.

    We should discuss sometime. Especially because some of what you had thought (the difficulty understanding anything without Christ as lens), I still think. And I think it prob would open my eyes a little more.

    Oh, also, perhaps it is just the way I’ve learned it – I mean, at a Christian liberal arts institution – but a rudimentary understanding of sociology seems to rule out as idealistic any sort of thinking that the world could move beyond religion. Or even that this would be beneficial. In some sense, religion is the glue which holds society together.

    Definition in this is no small factor. Religion in the sense in which I am using it is quite a vague and amorphous thing, encompassing “civil religion” of all types. You definitely need to read some Robert (?) Bellah. He’s the sociologist who really created waves in the late 60’s with his articles on Civil Religion in America. If you ever visit again (!), I’ll make a copy of some of it. It is fascinating stuff and definitely something that will supplement your political involvement. Oh, and I don’t know, but I have not seen sufficient evidence that Bellah subscribes to any particular doctrine-oriented religion.

    Good stuff, really. It is fascinating and engages my curiousity.

    Yep, that’s about it. We should catch up sometime. Where are you living these days?

  3. Нет,по настоящиму улыбнул 8 пункт,просто представил такую ситуацию ))).

  4. Кстати, если закончаться фото Одри, то можешь в фотошопе старые фото накладывать на новый фон, так и разнообразие будет и ты работать продолжишь

  5. Данный пост реально помог мне принять очень важное для себя решение. За что автору отдельное спасибо. Жду от Вас новых постов!

  6. I like your blog because it hits the nail on the head in regards to why people move away from Christianity. It doesn’t make sense. Our modern society prides itself on being perfectly rational. We like to know whats in the box so to speak, and frankly Christianity doesn’t fit into what the human mind naturally “feels is real”. We want to be “tolerant” and believe that there isn’t a judging God who will punish us if we are “outside of His will”. Christianity doesn’t do that. We want an explanation of our origins that makes sense to our modern “evolved minds” and frankly, God arbitrarily deciding to make the earth in six days doesn’t do the trick. Many so-called Christians are completely willing to compromise on these issue for the sake of social acceptance, but lets be honest, insincerity is even less rational…either you believe it or you don’t.

    But that is exactly it. I’m sure you know your scripture and all the arguments for and against Christianity inside and out. But no matter how much you try to rationalize your beliefs, it doesn’t change the fact that even Paul claims he is a fool for Christ. Christianity doesn’t fit in the box.

    Christianity is not a rational belief system if viewed through the lens of modern philosophy. I would contend that everything you say on your blog is 100% true…the problem is that you start from the wrong point. The standard for truth and reality is not what you see, not what you rationalize, not what you can nicely package into your little box of human reasoning, but what God determines is true. Because you, and the majority of my atheist friends will never make that “irrational” leap of faith, you will not, cannot, accept Christ as the true backbone of your life. You would be a hypocrite to do so.

    I have greatly enjoyed reading your blog and your thoughts, even though (frankly) it does bring me genuine sadness. I end all my letters and notes to my atheist friends the same way, with much love and prayer for a fellow human being.

  7. “My interaction with religion is now more of a moviegoer with a passing interest than a participant with a vested interest.”

    WOAH…you said that so precisely! That’s exactly where I am. Thank you!

  8. I highly enjoyed reading this post, keep up posting such exciting posts!!

  9. Peggy Sue Chan Says:

    I came here after googling “best selling tract”. I found your suggestion for the smart card. Thanks for the tip. I know that we’re in the very end of our age as we know it–one ruled by men–and I decided to start working for Jesus. (I mean, last chance to earn rewards, ya’ know?)

    Anyway, thanks. I guess no tract is perfect. And none even tell the verse I got saved by: “Jesus answered him, ‘If a man loves me, he will keep my word. My Father will love him, and we will come to him, and make our home with him.'”

    That says it all.

  10. Скажите, а можно как-то ник сменить мне?

  11. U have very unusual point of view – but this is exactly what makes your pots such interesting to read

  12. […] shavers, electric shaver, electric razor best electric razor for men electric shaver reviews best electric shaver for men consumer reports best electric razor reviews best electric razor according consumer reports How To Choose A Good […]

Leave a Reply

